Introducing Professor Fabiana Borges to the Lineup

27Jan13

I would like to introduce Fabiana Borges, a world champion and an inspiration to women’s jiujitsu. She will be traveling from Texas to join us for the PNW Women’s training camp happening in two weeks! For those of you who haven’t heard of her… check out her bio HERE on BJJ Heroes. She was also recently the champion of the first women’s super fight in Texas, check out this awesome piece written about her process prior to the fight at AUSTIN SIMPLY FIT. Also, she is currently an instructor at Gracie Barra San Antonio, spreading her knowledge to her students.

 


INTERVIEW:
When did you start training Brazilian Jiujitsu and why?
I started it in 1999 in a free social project back in Brazil. At the time I was looking for some sport to do – I had tried volleyball, soccer, and didn’t find anything that I liked. Then I tried BJJ and LOVED it.
What do you think of women’s BJJ as it is currently?
I think it is growing a lot. We are getting more space in the tournaments, in the media. There is a lot to improve but I believe we are on the right track.
What is your goal as a woman in this sport?
My goal is to reach as many people that I can, as the Gracie Barra logo says, I want to show jiujitsu to everyone, especially for girls. I believe BJJ is a great self-defense too, because it is all based on leverage.
What made you decide to travel all the way from Texas to Washington for the PNW Women’s Training Camp?
I have lived in Washington before and I see a great potential there. The state has a lot of great schools, good professors, and a lot of female high-belts, so I wanted to be a part of that. Also, I love to support girls when it comes to BJJ – there are not a lot of girls out there, so when events like the PNW Training Camp happen, we have to stick together.
If you were to give advice to any woman starting this sport, what would it be?
Have fun with it! I always say to my students or the girls that I teach to, it doesn’t matter what is your reason to train – self-defense, lose weight, compete, bond with your family, etc – you will always fall in love with this art. And if you have never trained before, give it a try, you won’t regret it.



No Responses Yet to “Introducing Professor Fabiana Borges to the Lineup”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment